ABOUT THE CONSORTIUM

fathersonbuilding.jpg

The Australian Fatherhood Research Consortium (AFRC) was established in April, 2017 at the Fatherhood Research in Australia Symposium II, held at Deakin University, Melbourne and co-hosted by the Family Action Centre, University of Newcastle.

Five working groups co-ordinate the national multi-site and multi-institutional collaboration. Our first domain of enquiry is fatherhood and sleep, specifically father sleep and fathers’ role in child sleep.

AFRC members have a wide range of interests beyond the study of sleep and aim to develop further fields of collaboration.

The working groups, and their assigned chairs, are as follows:

Literature review group. Chair is Dr Karen Wynter, School of Nursing and Midwifery, Western Health Partnership, Deakin University: k.wynter@deakin.edu.au

Data and analysis group. Chair is Dr Jacqui Macdonald, Centre for Social and Early Emotional Development, Deakin University: jacqui.macdonald@deakin.edu.au

Interventions group. Chair is Dr Eileen Dowse, School of Nursing and Midwifery, University of Newcastle: Eileen.Dowse@newcastle.edu.au

Scientific communications group. Chairs are Sam Teague, Centre for Social and Early Emotional Development, Deakin University: sam.teague@deakin.edu.au and Aladdin Jones, Eastern Health: aladdin.jones@gmail.com

Paternal Perinatal Depression Network. Chair is Associate Professor Richard Fletcher, Family Action Centre, University of Newcastle: richard.fletcher@newcastle.edu.au

NEW FATHER-INCLUSIVE PRACTICE NETWORK ESTABLISHED 2019

Father-Inclusive Practice Network. If you’re a practitioner, researcher, individual or organisation representative who would like to connect with others interested in father-inclusive practice, please contact the FIP Network co-ordinators, Julie Graney, (julietgraney@gmail.com) from Kids First Australia, or Claire Ruthven from Merri Health, (claire.ruthven@merrihealth.org.au)

Follow the AFRC on Twitter